Certified Forklift Technician (CFT)

Prepare individuals to repair and maintain technical systems utilizing key engineering principles that underpin most forklift vehicles.
Manufacturing Skills Standards Council (MSSC)
Manufacturing Skills Standards Council (MSSC)
MSSC CFT Certifications
Manufacturing Skills Standards Council (MSSC)

The purpose of the Certified Forklift Technician (CFT) program is to certify and recognize individuals who demonstrate core competencies involved in repair and maintenance of forklift vehicles. The CFT credential will give technical and community college students the tools to enter career pathways within the material handling industry.

The CFT program was created in partnership with the Material Handling Equipment Distributors Association (MHEDA) to provide skills to entry-level forklift technicians, enhancing their performance in the world of material handling. The CFT prepares individuals to repair and maintain technical systems utilizing key engineering principles that underpin most forklift vehicles. Click to download a copy of the CFT Key Activities.

The goal of the CFT certification program is to raise the performance of forklift technicians both to assist individuals in finding higher paying jobs and to help employers ensure their workforce is skilled. This combination increases the company’s productivity and competitiveness.


Individuals demonstrate their understanding of the core skills and knowledge through one assessment based upon MSSC's industry-defined, nationally validated skill standards. Delivered online, this assessment contains 109 multiple-choice questions (paper tests are available in exceptional circumstances). Individuals are allowed 90 minutes to complete the assessment. MSSC provides assessment scores as soon as the individual completes the assessment showing whether an individual met the “cut” scores for passing. This immediate feedback includes a diagnostic report for the individual showing how he or she scored on the key work activities within the CFT. This information is intended for self-improvement and is provided to all test-takers whether they pass or not.

General Policies

  • If assessments are not passed the first attempt time, the candidate must wait 15 calendar days before retesting. If there is a second failure, another 15-calendar day wait time is imposed. However, on the third attempt, a 60 day wait period is imposed.
  • No discounts for assessment retakes.
  • MSSC strongly recommends that individuals be at 8th-grade math and 10th-grade reading level.

For more information about MSSC's policies on certification, please see the Certification Policies page.


With successful completion, the individual will receive a nationally portable credential for success on the individual assessment.

More Information


Manufacturing & Engineering

Advanced Manufacturing Skills TrainersOur learning programs develop job-ready skills that have been proven time and again. Take a look at how we can help you be successful!

Colleges are challenged to offer courses whenever students are available – and frequently, wherever they are available. Students want courses that are available on campus as well as from home while also providing strong hands-on skills for the technology demands facing them. Meeting these demands is no small task.

Amatrol has learning programs that allow colleges to excel in this demanding environment. We offer a full range of learning systems, both in a traditional equipment lab setting as well as in a virtual lab, that meet and exceed students' expectations.